PDA

View Full Version : Am I legally able to drive?

JRinke
03-22-2006, 12:27 PM
I live in South Carolina and I recently had a foot operation. I now have a cast on my right foot and will so for another 3 1/2 weeks. I have already had a post-surgery splint on for 2 weeks and have become well acustomed to the feeling of the cast. Now my concerns are to whether of not I can legally drive my car. My parents do not believe that I can legally drive. I on the other hand am not sure of the legallity of this situation but feel more than able to control the pedals on the car and see it no more different than driving with thick-souled boots.

blah
03-22-2006, 12:53 PM
i'm no expert, but until one comes along i'd have to say no. not sure if the laws are the same down there, but in va you can't even drive without shoes because of the risk of your foot slipping off the pedal or something like that

JRinke
03-22-2006, 01:12 PM
Well, Ive been reading over the Code of Laws on Motor Vehicles, Code of Laws on Motor Vehicles (http://www.scstatehouse.net/code/t56c005.htm) and I cant find anything on even wearing shoes let alone having a cast. South Carolina has one of the countries highest insurance prices for a reason.

Aurai
03-22-2006, 02:49 PM
the thing with not wearing shoes is that while it's not technically illegal (even though cops and everyone else will tell you it is), if you get in an accident and you were not wearing shoes the insurance company doesn't have to cover you. i have a friend that got pulled over and wasn't wearing shoes and didn't have any in the car with her, the cop couldn't give her a citation or anything but he did mention about the insurance.

but about the cast, are you checking the code of laws on motor vehicles in general? or specific to your state?? make sure you're checking specific to your state. i'm pretty sure if you got in an accident, that would count against you. are you driving stick or automatic? which foot is the cast on??

JRinke